Know what I’m obsessed with right now? Veggie soups. Not like, soup with a bunch of veggies cut up in it. Like ONE veggie, with flavorings, in broth, with a bit of coconut milk, all blended up. That shit is GOOD. I made cream of mushroom soup for a hotdish, and had some leftover, so I ate it – and it was amazing. And I used to HATE mushrooms. I mean, it’s a fungus. That’s gross. Conceptually, I still have an issue with that, but now I’m able to not listen to the voice that says “hey that grew on dead decaying shit” and just eat my amazing soup.

Anyway, veggie soups. Here’s why I love them:

  1. They are super easy to make. More on that in a moment.
  2. It’s an easy way to get an extra serving of vegetables in.
  3. You can put bacon bits on it.
  4. You can eat it anytime. Before bed. While you’re making dinner. Mid afternoon snack. With meals. Shit, you can have it at breakfast. (Does that sound weird? If you live someplace that gets cold, try it. It’s the best.)

You can secretly put it in a travel mug and have vegetables without anyone even knowing. Why wouldn’t you want them to know? I don’t know. Maybe you’re a modest upper-Midwesterner who doesn’t want to make waves or answer probing questions. If you do want people to know how virtuous your vegetable intake is, you can put your veggie infused bone broth that you probably made all by yourself in a mason jar and own your hipsterness.

w6ftfbpcs9i-cala

Here’s the rough idea: take a couple cups of vegetables. For more delicate vegetables, saute them in a pot with some coconut oil (or butter or ghee or bacon fat (OR DUCK FAT)); hardier vegetables like beets, cut them into chunks and roast them on a pan. With the veg in the pot, add broth, spices, and some coconut milk for a creamy soup. Then use an immersion blender or a blender blender to get it all smooth (I go for the full blender because it gets the soup perfectly uniform in texture). Pour it all into a container (I use a quart mason jar) and keep it in the fridge. To serve, put it in a bowl or mug and add toppings. Boom. Delicious.

Here are some great recipes I’ve tried. Since all my canned coconut milk is separated since it’s about 65F in my pantry, I pour off the coconut water and just add the solidified coconut cream. Thicker soup, better soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup from Primal Palate – my absolute favorite. I make this all the time now. This makes for a useful alternative to Lutheran Binder – although note, it is not condensed, and already has broth in it, so reduce other liquids in your recipe accordingly.
Spiced Butternut Squash Soup from Stupid Easy Paleo – I left out the cumin and did 1/2 tsp of ginger instead and I LOVE it.
Silky Gingered Zucchini Soup from Melissa Joulwan

And here’s a Pinterest board I made of all the creamy veggie soups I’m working my way through! Click through to see all 20 and try some liquid veggies!

soups-pinterest-board

