People think of me as a busy person. I hear it all the time. I recently started planning social events for my gym, and when the owner announced it, he cited how busy I am already. I used to call this blog Busy Bee (cause one of the things I’m so busy with is beekeeping, get it?).

What is it that I’m so busy doing, exactly? I can’t tell you how many nights after dinner I would tell Bil how tired I was, or how I feel like I have so much more to get done tonight. But I feel like I never finish anything. So, what makes up all this busy-ness?

deathtostock_wired6

Work is a big one, Sleep is another. I do all the cooking for our household, so there’s that plus grocery shopping. I go to the gym 4ish times per week. Then there’s lots of piddly shit, like loading the dishwasher, folding laundry, running various errands. After all that, I’m usually so depleted that I just play games on my phone until it’s time to go to bed. This means I’m not doing all the things that I “do”: knitting, making stuff, reading, writing, whatever.

So basically, I’m spending a lot of time doing things I don’t enjoy; or at least, I’m doing them in a way that makes them un-enjoyable. That leaves me with little to no time to do the things I do enjoy. That’s no way to live!

deathtostock_wired4

I’ve been spending so much time and energy trying to DO ALL THE THINGS. It literally just occurred to me, in the last week or so, that maybe I should just do the things I reasonably have time to do, and screw the rest.   So here’s what I’m trying:

Nothing “gets done” after dinner.

We usually eat at 7 or 7:30, and I need to start my bedtime routine at 8:30. That doesn’t leave much time to knock out a to do list. I found myself waiting for Bil to finish eating so I could pry myself out of my chair and go get “one more thing” done before bed. Then I have no energy as I try to grind out one more thing to feel like slightly less of a getting shit done failure than I did before dinner. After dinner is now reserved for me to relax, and I can do whatever I want to do in that time.

Don’t put things on the to do list that don’t actually need to get done.

Why is “clean white handbag” on my to do list? It’s January. It’s a summer bag. In April when I think about bringing my summer clothes back to my closet, then I can deal with it. There’s no need for it to sit on my to do list for months, making me feel like I’m not executing.

Only put things on today’s list that can actually get done today.

That means before dinner. I would have a dozen things on my list to squeeze in during the one or two hours between work and making dinner. That’s just setting yourself up for failure. No more!

It’s okay to be good enough.

I’ve had a pile of old clothes and shoes to donate *somewhere* for quite sometime. I had heard that Goodwill didn’t stretch donations as far as they should, or that they profit too much, etc., so I had an item on my to do list to figure out a better place to donate my stuff. You know what? I don’t have to find the best possible charity to donate my old workout clothes to. If they stay in my house, no one is benefiting at all. Goodwill is fine. Done.

Hopefully, this opens up some time for me to do things I’ve been wanting to do, but just haven’t been able to fit in. Like reading, knitting, making. Relaxing.

2ou30mdtsey-giulia-bertelli

