I was really, really hoping we’d be done with summer when I went to the state fair for the first time in my life in a jacket. But noooo. I do like fresh summer veggies and grilling, but…alas. Maybe I’d like summer more if we had central air.

Enter gazpacho. It takes no heat, goes with everything and you can store it in a pitcher in the fridge for easy access. I studied in Spain in college, and this is pretty similar to the gazpacho I had in Toledo, which is near Madrid, in central Spain. Gazpacho is very regional, so you might find soups with different ingredients and textures. Traditionally, this recipe would have day old soaked bread in it as a thickener – but I think it’s fine without.

I usually make a double batch of this to fill up the pitcher, and then I have it with just about every meal. This is the regular size, in case you want to try it before you go nuts. Even if you do a double batch, only put this size batch in your food processor at once. Trust. I whiz up one batch, dump it in my largest mixing bowl, and then mix up the other half and add it to the bowl.

Gazpacho

Ingredients

  • 3 lbs tomatoes, seeded and roughly chopped
  • 1 cucumber, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 1 bell pepper, seeded and roughly chopped (I like to do half red and half green…on a smaller batch like this, you can make sticks for dipping with the leftover half peppers. Or just pick a color and go with it.)
  • 1 shallots, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • pinch of cumin
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 c olive oil
  • 3 Tbsp sherry vinegar

Method

  1. Get all your veggies prepped as described in the ingredients.
  2. Put the tomatoes, cucumber, pepper, and shallots in a food processor or immersion blender. Blend it to a puree.
  3. Add in the garlic, cumin, and salt.
  4. Stream in the olive oil; keep blending!
  5. Move the gazpacho to a large mixing bowl, and whisk in the sherry vinegar.
  6. If you are serving it immediately, add ice to each bowl and laddle the gazpacho over it.
  7. Pour the rest in a pitcher and eat it all the time.

20130907-113928.jpg

