One of the liberties I’m taking with being done with a Whole30 is that of enjoying a smoothie again.

2013-07-19 08.42.34

I almost hesitate to call this a smoothie, because it’s pretty much coffee, just slightly thicker. This summer, I’ve been getting my growler of cold press and adding 2 tablespoons of coconut milk to a cup of coffee and adding ice. This is pretty good, although the coconut milk doesn’t want to really emulsify with the coffee when it’s cold. But, for a special treat, I borrow some lines from my faux ice cream recipe, and make this. It’s chocolate. It’s coffee. It’s good.

Monkey Mocha

Ingredients

  • 8 oz cold press
  • 1 small frozen banana
  • 2 T cocoa powder
  • 2 T almond butter
  • 1/4 c coconut milk
  • ice

Method

  1. Put everything but the ice in a container and blend it with your immersion blender (or use a regular blender).
  2. Put ice in a glass/tumbler.
  3. Pour the goodness over the ice.
  4. Go in peace and be caffeinated.
