I thought I was done reading blogs today – Bil can’t fathom how I get so little done on weekends – until I sat down to eat my leftovers. I don’t often rave about my own cooking. But hot damn, were these good. And FAST.

Chili Dogs

Ingredients

  • hot dogs (I used a pack of Applegate Farms)
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 Tbsp bacon fat (or fat of choice)
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 small yellow onion
  • 1 can diced or crushed tomatoes, drained
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • sea salt

Method

  1. Start up the grill for the hot dogs (or start boiling water).
  2. Brown & break up the beef in a saute pan.
  3. Dice up the onion and mince or press the garlic.
  4. Push the beef to the perimeter and drop in the fat.
  5. Drop in the onion and garlic, and let it cook until it gets translucent.
    2013-07-12 18.06.02
  6. Add in your spices.
    2013-07-12 18.13.02
  7. Drain and add in your tomatoes.
  8. Stir, leave on low until your hot dogs are done.
  9. Put the hot dogs on the grill or in the water; cook until done.
  10. Put a dog on a plate, put some chili on top.
    2013-07-12 18.42.22
  11. Eat it. With some kind of veg. Yum.
