My phone is full of pictures of food. Well, and cats. But also food. I promised serious exhibitionism, and I intend to deliver. As I said, I’m not going to update the blog every time I eat (annoying) but I will update Instagram. I’ve had it for three years, and had only posted two pictures- both of them were of food. I think daily pictures of what I’m eating is fulfilling my Instagram’s life purpose. It’s destiny.

So, without further adieu, here are the unique-ish things I’ve been eating for breakfast over the last month or so:

20130430-091524.jpg

Swirly Crustless Quiche from Practically Paleo – that’s a big piece of egg. Frequent bites of bacon neccesary.


20130430-091610.jpg

Eggs scrambled with spinach and topped with avocado and Parmasean cheese. Parmasean cheese is not strictly paleo…but it was tasty. 

20130430-091637.jpg

Post workout breakfast: kale, two eggs, bacon, and a sweet potato with butter. The sweet potato was probably a bit too much. Now if I feel like workout really took it out of me, I add half of one.

20130430-091658.jpg

I had zero desire to eat anything except fruit, so: two hardboiled eggs, a smoothie made with berries and coconut milk, and coffee.

20130430-091746.jpg

Prosciutto Wrapped Mini Frittata Muffins from Nom Nom Paleo. I made these this time without the prosciutto (hence the bacon) in silicone muffin liners. Either works great!

Here’s what I’ve learned from the last month of breakfasts:

  • You better get vegetables in at breakfast, or you are missing a big opportunity.
  • I tend to have the same thing every day: kale, one piece of bacon, two eggs. I’m looking forward to switching this up with scrambles of whatever is in season as veggies start to come up this summer.
  • Paleo does not equal weight loss. One of those smoothies is a good 7 WW points! On top of the rest of the breakfast – that’s a lot!! This is also why I went from 2 pieces of bacon to 1. I do think having some fat is important.
  • It’s a good idea (for me, anyway) to have grab and go options, like frozen egg muffins or hardboiled eggs. Plus a piece of bacon from the bacon bag and a piece of fruit – good to go.
