Q: How can you tell someone does CrossFit?
A: Don’t worry, they’ll tell you.

It’s true. CrossFitters will not shut the ef up about CrossFit. I really only have one other friend who does CrossFit, and because we work in different buildings in Minneapolis, we basically only see each other when we happen to be in Canada at the same time. But when we are, there’s a lot of WOD talk. We jokingly ask each other “is that paleo?” every time someone grabs something NOT paleo. We talk about deadlift technique. And have started using pood as a swear word.

I’m pretty sure similar rules apply for paleo. Once someone goes paleo, they will not stop talking about bacon. I’m guilty of this. When people incredulously ask how it’s going eating no bread, pasta, dairy, etc, I tell them it’s great…I eat bacon every damn day. And I do. I usually have two slices at breakfast with my eggs and pile of kale (which is sauteed in bacon fat – yummy). If I get home from work and am hankering for something sweet, I have found that one slice of bacon actually does the trick. I know. Bacon is not sweet. I think it’s the fat…fat just brings satiety. I’m not talking shitty transfats, I mean GOOD fat. Bacon fat.

20130329-084651.jpg

I also noticed bacon doesn’t break the Weight Watchers points plus bank, either. Two slices is 3 points plus, and those are 3 really good points.

Perfect Bacon

    1. Preheat oven to 350F.
    2. Put a wire rack in a rimmed pan (to catch the delicious fat), and arrange the bacon on top, like so.Arrange the slices of bacon on the rack on the pan
    3. Pop it in the oven for 30 minutes.

I let the bacon bake while I shower after the gym, take two for my breakfast, and put the rest in my bacon bag and put it in the fridge. Bacon on demand!

baconbag

You know all the bacon fat in the pan? Drain it into a container (glass – plastic will melt) and keep it in the fridge for easy access.

All of the bacon is from Bar Five Meat & Poultry. They are devoted to free range, hormone free, all around good quality meat. They are based out of Arlington, MN, and are always at the St Paul and Minneapolis Farmer’s Markets. They are perfectly lovely, always answer questions, and work hard to make sure you enjoy your meat! Check them out!

